Skip to content

August Bag Mania!

August 2, 2008

So I’m going through a bit of a bag phase at the moment (as I heard Little Sunshine explain to one of her friends today).  Here’s the line up.

I’m quite chuffed about this one–it’s an original design, based on the extremely cool Japanese Knot Bag designed by Helen of Show Your Workings.  I made one in fabric for our friend Mari which I forgot to take a picture of before I mailed it, and I loved it so much, I decided I needed to felt one.  This one is for my mother-in-law, who requested a neutral color and buttons like the ones on my sister-in-law’s bag.

This one I call The Hippy Wanderer (Val-de-ri! Val-de-rah!).  It’s for Auntie Julia, whose birthday is coming up.  It’s my first foray into patchwork baggage–mostly I reprobate the use of patchwork for any item other than quilts.  I especially hate all forms of patchwork clothing, including boxy jackets, appliqued sweatshirt cardigans, and bunchy, hideous skirts.

Here’s a close-up of the fabric Little Sunshine chose for her very own Bonbon Basket.  The whole thing looks like this.

Don’t look at the door handle, though, because that’s not an Ooompa-Loompa with a camera.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Blinkin permalink
    August 4, 2008 10:52 am

    I LOVE the Bon Bon bag. It’s bag-a-licous! You should be selling these at some poshy upscale boutique! As for the patchwork, I agree. It conjures up images of beehive hair, fondue and hiding under the buffet table with my friends giggling at all the platform shoes. Oh, and those orange and brown afghans that are colored like A&W.

    Rock on bag lady!

  2. Melynda Huskey permalink*
    August 4, 2008 11:55 am

    Speaking of orange and brown afghans . . . the kids and I caught a bit of Nanny McPhee the other day, and there was the most utterly superb granny square afghan on one of the beds. Now I’ve already broken the granny square prohibition (see http://melyndahuskey.wordpress.com/2007/11/06/never-say-never/ ) and I’m thinking seriously about breaking down further and making a whole afghan in fabulously Victorian colors. Where I’d put it, I can’t say. But I want it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

