Skip to content

Cheap is Good. Cold is Good.

July 25, 2010

What you see above is a truly great discovery:  the easiest, fastest, and most delicious homemade ice cream I have ever made.  I found it on Shelterrific, to whom all praise and honor is due.  You see it above swirled with the syrup left over from poaching plums, peaches, and nectarines for dessert.   (Save the syrup also for making completely frou-frou champagne cocktails, if you have the kind of friends who not only understand that occasionally you’re going to go femme-to-the- wall, but look forward to it.)

Before I do the ice cream explanation, though, check this out.  If you are spending a fortune (modest or Rockefellerian) on cold coffee drinks from any source whatsoever, you need to know this:  I’ve got you covered.

Do you know how to cold-brew coffee?  It’s insane, really.  You take a pitcher, and put about a third of a cup of ground coffee in it, and then fill it up with cold water, and leave it over night.  In the morning, strain it through a coffee filter into a clean pitcher.  Put it in the refrigerator.  It’s smooth and extra-extra-strong.

If you want hot coffee, put some of the extract in a mug and fill with boiling water.  If you want iced coffee, pour it over ice.  And if you want to have a very inexpensive and delicious imitation of the iced lattes in a glass bottle that cost $7 for 4,  you mix it with sweetened condensed milk to taste and pour it over ice.  And if you want to save even more dosh, throw it all in the blender and get yourself a frappacino at a fraction of the total retail price.

I know.  Awesome, huh?

And then add this ice cream.  Cheap and delicious.  Cheap, and delicious!

Greek Yogurt Ice Cream

2 cup whole milk Greek-style yogurt
2 cups  half and half
Juice of one lemon
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vodka (or limoncello, if you have it)

Whisk all the ingredients together gently and pour into your ice cream maker. Churn as directed by your ice cream maker’s instructions. When it’s done, cure it in a lidded container in the freezer for at least an hour.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 10:42 pm

    We’ll have to find a way around the sugar in the ice cream (stevia, maybe), but it sounds fantastic! We’re huge fans of Greek yogurt here, so yay!

  2. July 30, 2010 11:04 pm

    I’m new to you today. If this coffee things turns out 1/2 as good as it sounds you will be my new best friend.

  3. July 30, 2010 11:48 pm

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed–I’d love a new bestie. And maybe even if the coffee thing doesn’t work out as well as we hope, we could still get acquainted?

  4. August 4, 2010 6:09 am

    See, this is why despite everything there is still a cultural divide between the US and UK: the thought of cold coffee makes me go “Eurgh”. You can buy iced coffee drinks in US-style coffee shops here, but I have never seen anyone order one. Maybe we’re all missing out.

    Hot coffee, though, is a different story.

    I do like buckwheat, but then I come from the land where oats are a national dish.

    • August 5, 2010 12:16 am

      @kickingk: Hey, you! Welcome back! I never got cold coffee till I was pregnant with Tuxedo Boy, and then suddenly the smell of hot coffee made me completely sick. Also, tea. But I needed some caffeine in my life. I tried an Americano over ice, and my life was transformed. I never drink the milky kind; Joan is the one who loves those. But I do have an interest in keeping the budget under control!

      I will confess to a great love of oats: steel cut, Scottish, rolled, Irish. All delicious in their own way. Especially with golden syrup and milk.

  5. August 5, 2010 7:45 pm

    Did you say frou-frou champagne cocktail? Um, yes, please. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

