Skip to content

Carrot Bacon. That’s Right. Carrot Bacon.

August 13, 2010

No doubt you, because you are trendy like that, have already had kale chips (and very delicious they are, too!). But I bet you haven’t had carrot bacon.  Invented by a culinary genius named Kent Brewster, it couldn’t be easier to do.

Peel some beautiful big carrots.  Use your vegetable peeler to slice long planks off–or if you have a fancy mandoline and aren’t afraid to use it, go ahead.  You want pieces of carrot about the size and thickness of raw slices of bacon.

Maitre Brewster recommends a deep fryer, which is great if you have one.  I don’t, so I just used a skillet and some canola oil.  BE CAREFUL, no matter what method you use.

Fry your carrot slices  until they are quite brown and crispy.  Drain them on paper towels.  Sprinkle with kosher salt (or, if you really want the complete bacon experience, with some smoked salt), and then eat them all.  The kids will scoff, initially.  If you’re smart, you’ll let them.  I kept saying, “No, seriously, it’s really, really good.”  And then they tried it, and there wasn’t any left for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 3:18 pm

    thank you, thank you! I have a vegetarian daughter and bacon-adoring son. This sounds like the perfect meet-in-the-middle snack.

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    August 20, 2010 9:40 pm

    That’s so funny! I, too, have a vegan daughter and a carnivorous son–and carrot bacon is a big hit with both of them. Let me know how your sweet babies like it!

  3. September 20, 2010 10:54 am

    I have to try making these. I might try parsnips, as well – we eat vegetable crisps from time to time and the parsnips are particularly good. I think trying to do beetroot at home would be a recipe for disaster, though.

    Why is vegetarianism seemingly so female, I wonder? I spring from a family where all the women are vegetarian and the men aren’t. Then again, our first vegetarian was my great-grandfather, circa 1920, an autodiktat progressive (or crank, depending which relative you’re listening to) who had Views about diet and health. He lived well into his eighties, still walking miles every day. I wish I could remember him properly, but he died when I was two.

Leave a comment