Skip to content

Sleepover! Also Leaf Garland!

January 17, 2011

Tuxedo Boy turned 11 last week, and we celebrated his double ones with a slumber party Saturday.  He had three friends over (the full extent of guests possible in tiny Ramshackle Hall) for a monster pizza, root beer, nearly unlimited Godzilla Unleashed on the Wii, and the Gir cake pictured above.  A fine time for everyone, I think, although I will confess I resorted to Extra-Strength Excedrin at about 11:30 p.m., when they held an impromptu flatulence contest.

Leaf Garland

And here is our fall garland, a perfect project for a sunny, windy day in fall. Here’s what you do: go for a walk around an old neighborhood with the kids, picking up a bagful of beautiful leaves. When you get home, drink some hot cider while sorting through the leaves, choosing the most beautiful ones with long stems. Melt some paraffin in a clean aluminium foil pie plate (we did this by roughly chopping the paraffin, dropping it in the pie tin, and putting the whole thing in a large skillet full of hot water. Just be careful not to get any water in the paraffin.)

dipping the leaves

Dip each leaf in the melted paraffin, being sure to cover it completely. Let them cool on a large sheet of butcher’s paper–the most versatile craft supply ever.

waxed leaves

Use baker’s twine–or any old string, really, but I like the juxtaposition of butcher, baker, and candle[stick]maker–to create a garland that suits you.

Leaf Garland

(Astute readers (if any readers are left!) will note that this was written on 8 November 2010.  Yes, I forgot about it.  Yes, I am a lazy blogger.  But the garland is still going strong!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 8:31 am

    I am still reading. I’ve been a poor and sporadic blogger myself recently – sometimes life gets in the way. (My excuse is that I’m expecting a baby and seem to have left my brain somewhere.)

    The leaf garland is beautiful. I have a tendency to pick up beautiful leaves myself, and then leave them on the kitchen table to curl and dry and darken. I’ve always wished there was a way to preserve them… so I shall try this, if I remember.

  2. Monika Deinard permalink
    March 26, 2013 1:18 am

    I stumbled here looking for answers to Philopena Presents .. Learning about that and so much more..
    What Fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

