Skip to content

Hot Weather. Late Nights. A Certain Amount of Insanity.

July 29, 2007

Some years ago, I read an exposé about over-achieving housewives on meth, which reported breathlessly that middle-class housewives were turning to methamphetamines to help them get more done.  Trawling through the sordid details (She mortgaged her house without her husband’s knowledge.  To get money for DRUGS!), I found myself thinking, ” Well, you know, she did get all the laundry done.  And made adorable decorated sugar cookies.  And cute rubberstamped grocery lists.  And cleaned all the closets in the house.  And color-coordinated all the sheets and pillowcases.  And did really nice gifts for the kids’ teachers . . .”

I know.  That way, madness lies.  Not to mention a second mortgage.  But here’s the thing.  It’s really, really hot right now.  So during the day, I’m incapable of any action more ambitious than eating slices of watermelon and listening to the kids argue over Knytt.  But last night, under the light of a breathtakingly full moon, I cleaned house like a woman possessed.  Then I made four loaves of zucchini bread.  I did six loads of laundry. And I made myself a handbag from a pattern in a really cool Japanese craft book I bought in Seattle earlier this week.  And a couple of lunch box carriers, from the same book (I’d tell you what it’s called, but I have no idea, being illiterate in Japanese).

Another lunch bag

Lunch Bag from my new book

And I did it on nothing but French Roast coffee from WinCo and my own insanity. When I finally got to bed, it was 3:30. The sky was getting light. The chickens were waking up. The kitchen smelled like zucchini bread and Mrs. Meyer’s geranium counter spray.

Life was good.  Insane, of course.  But good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. gimble permalink
    July 29, 2007 9:57 pm

    Back again for another visit.

    Are you talking about bento boxes? Did you make carriers for bento boxes?

    We have much in common besides L,B. I sew, I knit, I write, and I want to know the name of that Japanese craft book! But I’m sure my husband would be happier if I cleaned (like a woman possessed) in the cooler nighttime hours. Instead, I blog and surf (so I don’t get in my daughter’s way during the day – I try to encourage her creative computing.)

    Your pencil case was stunning, BTW. Where did you get that bullseye patterned fabric? I just bought a new book about crazy-quilt purses, and Somerset Studio’s second magazine on Haute Handbags.

    Ever read M.T. Anderson’s Thirsty and Burger Wuss? such an interesting mind, slightly askew.

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    July 30, 2007 8:20 pm

    I *do* mean carriers for bento–they’re a sort of modified furoshiki thing, as you can see from the pictures. I use Lock and Lock containers for bento, since you can mix and match according to the needs of the day, and since they’re relatively cheap, compared to the fancier Mr. and Ms. Bento.

    Thanks for the kind words about the pencil case. The bullseye pattern came from Joann Fabrics, and the polka dot was from my mom’s quilting stash. I’d really love to do another one in Amy Butler fabric, but no more cash for fabric this month!

    I haven’t read Thirsty, but found Feed pretty amazing, and am still in shock from Octavian Nothing.

Leave a Reply

