Skip to content

My Back Yard

August 20, 2007

I know this is a giant picture, but I wanted you to see how beautiful it is here at harvest time.  Summer is drawing in . . . university classes started today, and the kids are back to school next week.  The weather has turned chilly and damp, although it’s bound to heat up again before fall really descends.  We’re getting the benefit of Papa’s gardening now in fruit and vegetable plenty.

My favorite vegetable dish last summer was the tomato sandwich–two toasted pieces of my homemade sandwich bread, Best Foods mayonnaise, thick slices of superbly-ripe homegrown tomato, salt, and pepper.  Just thinking about tomato sandwiches makes me sigh.  I love them so, especially for breakfast.

But this year tomato sandwiches have a rival in my affections, thanks to my girl over at Smitten Kitchen.  The apotheosis of zucchini, and as easy as a tomato sandwich:

Grate up a bunch of very fresh zucchini in your Cuisinart.  Pour some olive oil in a pan.  Toast some sliced almonds in that olive oil till they’re nice and brown.  Drop in your zucchini and toss it around till the zucchini is just tender, warmed through, and fragrant.  Sprinkle with coarse salt and fresh ground pepper, and eat it right out of the pan. 

You’re probably wondering how this could possibly be as good as a tomato sandwich, and I can’t explain it.  I can only tell you that when you eat it, you will be so happy.  You will be filled with wonder and joy, and you will want to make it every night.  If you are me, you will.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. hels permalink
    August 21, 2007 5:36 am

    What is a “cuisinart”>

  2. hels permalink
    August 21, 2007 5:37 am

    oh, and I meant to say, beautiful picture. Thanks!

  3. Jo Fothergill permalink
    August 21, 2007 3:17 pm

    cool – i have a new desktop background thanks to the picture …

  4. melyndahuskey permalink*
    August 21, 2007 10:02 pm

    Cuisinart is a brand of kitchen appliance best known for their food processors. I’m misusing the term as a generic–like Kleenex and Xerox. Oops!

    It is a beautiful picture, isn’t it? Joan takes a great picture, although in this case the landscape helped.

    Thanks for stopping by, you all!

Leave a Reply

