Skip to content

Aisai Bento

September 28, 2007

Lately my bento have been, well, uninspired.  Tuxedo Boy and Little Sunshine are very choosy about what goes into their lunches, and I’m not quite back in the swing of daily lunch making.  But last night I broke out of my slump and sent Joan off to work with my version of aisai bento (“loving wife lunch”).  It surely wouldn’t pass muster in Kyoto, nor yet in Kaneohe, but for Idaho, I reckon it does pretty well.

Reading from top to bottom, smoked cheddar cherry blossoms, a boiled egg, and some steamed broccoli, salmon with remoulade sauce, radishes cut to look like mushrooms, whole-grain crackers, pickles, grapes, and chocolate-covered Oreos.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Fothergill permalink
    September 29, 2007 2:29 am

    i sure could use someone like you around here making me lunch – that sure looks amazing!!

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    September 29, 2007 9:26 pm

    I’m always thinking Joan’s officemates will laugh at her lunches, but she assures me that they don’t.

  3. Jo Fothergill permalink
    September 30, 2007 2:16 pm

    spacegirl and i went out for the day yesterday and looked for bento boxes (or similar) to use for our lunches … we think they’re cool – not sure that ours will have so much detail but we’re gonna try …

    and i’ll be the envy of my workmates …

  4. Betty permalink
    October 27, 2007 7:45 am

    No, we do not mock her. But I want to know where you bought the box it goes in. I would love to know if one can run them through the dish washer.

  5. November 11, 2007 12:38 am

    I’m so stealing the radish mushrooms.

  6. melyndahuskey permalink*
    November 11, 2007 1:51 pm

    I love making the radish mushrooms. Sometime when I’m really ambitious, I’m making a gnome bento, with the radish mushrooms, and broccoli trees, and . . . well, I’ll post it when I do it. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

