Skip to content

Sleeveless

October 14, 2007

Behold, my gallery of shame.  These are knitting projects I have had on the needles for too long, often for very poor reasons.

This is a cardigan for Sofie, with hugs-and-kisses and wishbone cables.  All that’s left is the sleeves and the button band.

This is possibly the most superbly-designed sweater I’ve ever knit:  the Eris pullover, from the meticulous and inspired Girl from Auntie.  You’ll notice that it, too, is missing sleeves.  I admit it, I hate sleeves.  They’re repetitive and at the same time fiddly, because they have to be reduced regularly and evenly, and both sides have to match.

Here’s a silk and wool scarf in seed stitch.  I haven’t had it on the needles long–in fact, I started it just three weeks ago.  It’s perfect for knitting on while I read or watch tv.  But I took it to Little Sunshine’s cross-country meet and lost one of the needles, so I haven’t worked on it since.

Here’s almost half a pair of Tofutsie socks for our friend Tanner, who had very special sock-related needs which I am failing to meet.  Sorry, Tanner! 

I finished this fingerless pirate glove in the Seattle airport last week, but I haven’t got its match on the needles yet.  It’s a modification of the Pirate Mittens at Hello Yarn–I made two pairs of these last winter, and three pairs of the squirrel mittens (Tuxedo Boy kept felting them into immoveable tubes).

This is new, and actually coming along nicely.  Joan brought me back some lovely yak yarn from Alaska, and I’m making it into a lace scarf in Little Leaf pattern. 

So I’m hoping that this little gallery of shame will spur me on to completion.  Feel free to ask for updates, or to chide me. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tanner permalink
    October 15, 2007 6:44 pm

    No need to apologize. You already knitted me two great pairs of socks. Melynda Huskey — for all your Factor V needs!

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    October 16, 2007 10:47 pm

    Nevertheless, there are more in the works, and I need to get off my hands and finish them. See, I haven’t been travelling as much for work (for which much gratitude!), and so I haven’t been trapped anyplace with nothing to do but knit. Nothing like an airport to get me knittin’ like a fiend.

  3. hels permalink
    October 17, 2007 9:35 am

    Factor V needs? Pray tell what that means? For me it means Factor V Leiden defiiciency … and a tendency to blood clotting …. melynda, please finish the socks ….

  4. melyndahuskey permalink*
    October 17, 2007 11:54 pm

    I know, I know. And they’re almost done! This is the danger point, though: nearly every knitter has a handful of singleton socks stashed somewhere–it’s so easy not to go on to the next sock!

  5. Tanner permalink
    October 18, 2007 7:07 pm

    Y’all, it’s okay! Somehow I’ve lived to be 48 . . .

  6. August 30, 2017 8:50 pm

    I think the most important in a presidential debate is the position of president, morals and ethics, as it stands at the moment the debate, answering insults the opponent with the diplomacy.Must demonstratewith certainty the things he has done and intends to do to the countrys`s growth.

Leave a Reply

