Skip to content

Never Say Never . . .

November 6, 2007

I have for many years publicly declared my undying hatred for the granny square, summing up as it does everything tacky and repulsive about the early 70s: corn-pone, aw-shucks hillbilly-chic; acrylic yarn; the nauseating palette of chartreuse, Schiaparelli pink, harvest gold, avocado, and brown, brown, brown; even the faux-folksy name “granny.”  In hats, vests, bags, afghans, bikinis (I’m not joking), scarves, and hippy ponchos, I really cannot endure the granny square.

Which is why I am working on a scarf of granny hexagons made from Frog Tree alpaca sportweight yarn. 

I blame Moonstitches.  “Granny square” just doesn’t even cover the beauteousness of this

 So here I am, grannying away.  Eating my words again . . . but they don’t taste too bad served up like this:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

