Skip to content

Bat and Insect Mittens

November 24, 2007

Tuxedo Boy goes through mittens like you wouldn’t believe.  Last year I made three pairs of the fabulous Hello Yarn’s Squirrel and Oak Leaf mittens;  he felted each pair on the playground until they looked like this:

  

For some reason, though, this year’s mittens were just a pain to knit.  It’s been several months since I did mittens, so I wasn’t completely fresh on the details of thumb gusset and side reductions.  Tuxedo Boy requested bats this year, and I didn’t have a good chart for bats, and he needed the mittens as soon as possible, so I didn’t spend much time designing it–and totally weaseled out on mitten #2, giving it an “insect” pattern (listen, in Norway they call that the flea pattern.  Fleas are insects).  I messed up on the right thumb twice, and had to pull out inches of stitches to get back to the right spot for the gusset.  It was a nightmare. 

Luckily, a new pair will be required within a month, if last year’s experience is anything to go by, and I’ll have time to design something a little less . . . embarrassing.

In the meantime, I’ve set myself the task of designing a perfectly utilitarian pair of mittens suitable for all uses and occasions, and using it as a way of figuring out how to post a pdf to this blog.  Watch for it! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 8, 2013 2:10 pm

    Can you please make a bat mitten for me? I’ll pay you!

    Email me at kenwatanabe1@gmail.com if you can 🙂

Leave a Reply

