Skip to content

Thanksgiving Knitting Orgy

November 24, 2007
tags:

My nieces from Boise were here for Thanksgiving (along with their mother, of course!) and their presence triggered a veritable orgy of knitwear design and execution.  Niece M needed an earflap hat with patterns all around it and tassels galore (“Everybody has one at school, and they’re really expensive, but I thought I’d rather have one that my aunt made for me, since it would be unique.”)  Niece C (not pictured) needed a tweed velours beret in autumnal shades.  And Little Sunshine needed a Nordic-style bucket hat.

Which makes a great opportunity to thank Sheila McGregor, author of The Complete Book of Traditional Scandinavian Knitting, which I bought in 1984, and have used at least once a month since then.  It’s full of great tips on mittens, hats, jumpers, and socks.  It has all the Nordic color-knitting patterns anyone could ever need, fabulous historical photos, and, well, everything.  With this book and my beloved Barbara Walker Treasury of Knitting Patterns, I can make just about anything.

But what really, really made the holidays for me was getting my Ravelry invitation.  I’ve been waiting so patiently, and at last, to quote Eva Cassidy, my love has come along.  It’s everything you’ve heard, and more.  Go sign up now, and then come back.  I can wait.  I want you to find out about the Ankh-Morpork Knitters’ Guild, and the Gromit Love, and the hundreds of free patterns, and the fun of putting up all your projects in your notebook, and  . . . well, just go.  I’ll see you later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

