Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Cookies: A shocking confession

December 3, 2007

I just don’t like chocolate chip cookies.

I know, I know.  One more way in which I am un-American (that makes, what, 72 and counting?).  I hear that there are more chocolate chip cookies made in the U.S. than any other kind of cookie.  But I’d rather have no cookie than chocolate chip.

I like molasses spice.  I like snickerdoodles.  I’ve spent years in search of the perfect sugar cookie.  I’m a sucker for a little something called Bunty Creams, which involve corn flakes, golden syrup, and butter cream filling (wait till Christmas!).  There’s this old New England cookie called a Joe Frogger, which has salt water and rum and molasses and ginger–fabulous.  Mmm . . .

In high school I won a newspaper contest sponsored by the Lewiston Morning Tribune for a quotation praising chocolate chip cookies–if memory serves, I cribbed a bit out of Romeo and Juliet, which was much on my mind at the time (ah, youth!).  But I didn’t really like them then, and I don’t like them now

 Which is why I make so many of them . . . I’m never tempted by them.  Little Sunshine and Tuxedo Boy love them,  Joan and Papa will eat the dough by the spoonful, they’re always fast and easy, and I can walk right past them without a second glance.  Unlike, well, pizza.  Or dried pineapple.  Or those raspberry habenero truffles from Cowgirl Chocolates, d**n their eyes!

So I tried a new chocolate chip recipe from The Best Recipe, by the Cooks Illustrated people, which I checked out from the library this weekend.  I’m not a huge fan of Cooks Illustrated, largely because I find that one guy’s bow ties so irritating.  No, really.  I just don’t like him.  Well, that and I don’t think their recipes are always the best.  A lot of the time, The Baking Sheet, from King Arthur Flour, has better recipes for baked goods.

And that’s the case with the so-called best “Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.”  The dough was, according to the kids, heavy and greasy, with a distinct and unwelcome hint of peanut butter.  The cookies themselves, although chewy the night I made them, were hard this morning, and like concrete this afternoon.  Like if Jimmy Hoffa were chocolate chips, these cookies would be Shea Stadium. 

 Photogenic, but not delicious.  I hate that.  I’m going back to my old reliable, a stalwart chocolate chip if ever there was one, adapted freely from The Baking Sheet. You won’t go wrong with this one.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies or so.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Put Silpats or parchment paper on 2 cookie sheets.

1/2 cup butter-flavored shortening (isn’t that repulsive? I hate even typing it.)
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 large egg
2 cups unbleached flour
1 t salt
1/2 t baking soda, dissolved in 1 T warm water
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Cream shortening, butter, sugars, vanilla, egg, baking soda and water until light and fluffy.  Add flour and salt.  Mix in chips.

Drop golf-ball sized balls of dough on Silpatted cookie sheets.  Bake at 350 F for 12-15 minutes, until the edges are brown and the tops just set.  Let them cool for 2-3 minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to a rack to finish cooling.  To keep them soft and chewy, put them in an airtight tin with a slice of apple while they are still slightly warm. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Saundra permalink
    December 3, 2007 11:44 pm

    So, where’s your snickerdoodle recipe?!?!

    I confess to not being a huge fan of chocolate chip cookies (as I’m waiting to be struck down for such sacrilige). Well. I do like chocolate chip cookies made just so. And, “just so” means adding lots and lots of nuts to the dough but not adding chocolate chips. When the cookies are on the sheet ready to go in the oven, I add a chip or two to “my” cookies and a bunch more to “their” cookies. It works for me . . . and for them!

  2. December 4, 2007 11:48 am

    Just means more chocolate chip cookies for the rest of us 😀 hehehehehe.

    I use the snickerdoodle recipe in my grandma’s old 1950s Betty Crocker cook book and I am lucky if hubby doesn’t inhale them the minute they come out of the oven. Now that I have my KA stand mixer I really do need to start baking more often.

Leave a Reply

