Skip to content

Totoro, Totoro!

December 10, 2007

My very dear former colleague Karen–from whom I learned more than anyone else I have ever worked with, hands down–is now a proud grandmother.  So I’ve finally gotten a chance to try this completely irresistable bonnet from the incomparable Hello Yarn.  It worked up in a hurry, has some extra-nice shaping in the back, to accommodate those giant baby heads, and generally has a very high “awwww” factor.

I’m sending it with a copy of “My Neighbor Totoro,” which I can’t imagine not having in the house once kids have arrived.  When I was home on maternity leave with Tuxedo Boy, I watched it at least once a week.  Of course, I also planned my day around the Cartoon Network’s Toonami lunchtime feature of Sailor Moon and Reboot, read nearly all of Angela Thirkell’s novels in order, and made candied orange and grapefruit peel every two days.  Yes, those were happy, if somewhat peculiar, days. 

I don’t know what singular oddities are distinguishing the post-partum life of this new baby’s parents, but I know that they will make precious, fond, and silly memories . . .

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2007 4:55 pm

    OMG! So I’m not the only one who made a blue Totoro this season. 😉 The hat is darling and instantly recognizable! Totoro is a must read for all children.

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    January 4, 2008 11:07 pm

    I’m a Totoro addict. Not only did I do the hat, but I made a bunch of amigurumi Totoros, too. I love them all.

Leave a Reply

