Skip to content

Little Sunshine Saves the Planet

August 17, 2008

Little Sunshine is extremely environmentally conscious, and it’s thanks to her prompting that I (sometimes) remember to take my own grocery bags to WinCo.  She and Tuxedo Boy have really gotten into shopping lately–they’re helping plan the meals, which means that Monday is spaghetti-in-front-of-the-tv (Bones and House!) night, and Friday night is pizza night.  They do the weekly shopping with me, too.  I divide the list in half, and they get their own cart and list, and we rendezvous in Aisle 8.  Tuxedo Boy is a whiz at comparing unit prices.  My biggest problem now is convincing them that sometimes the cheapest is not the best (you know my brand loyalty problem–there’s no explaining why it has to be Clabber Girl, even if generic baking powder is cheaper).

Anyway, on our latest shopping trip, Little Sunshine pointed out that the steady stream of produce bags coming into our house is just as destructive to the environment as the plastic grocery bags.  A little light went on in my head.  You know that fabulous Japanese craft book I keep making things out of, although I have no idea what it’s called (ISBN 4-86067-097-3).  There’s a pattern for fruit bags in there that I’ve puzzled over–why make a gauze bag with handles for fruit?  But of course, if you take it to the store with you, fill it with fruit, and then hang it from a tidy set of cup hooks under your cupboard .  .  .

So Little Sunshine and I put our heads together, and devised the set of bags you see above.  Unbleached muslin in two sizes, large and small.  Large bags have two rows of zig-zag stitching, small bags have one, for ease of identification.  No handles, because I like to keep my fruit in a bowl, and because I’ve got nowhere to hang them in my kitchen.  They didn’t take even 20 minutes to whip up, and I love them.  I’ll undoubtedly make another set, maybe even with handles this time.  I’d like to find some of that linen gauze that’s in my book–it looks really airy and yet strong.  I could also invest in some more of the fabulous linen yarn I used to make my string bag and knit up a couple . . . 

Crafting a better world, that’s us!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean Marie permalink
    August 17, 2008 3:28 pm

    Just remember to not weigh them at the checkout! No sense paying the grocery store extra for your bags…

  2. Jo Fothergill permalink
    August 18, 2008 12:31 pm

    spacegirl and i do the shopping – the boys help cooking but have to list the stuff they need on a whiteboard in the pantry before we shop; we have 5 reusable bags that we use – the supermarkets here offer reusable bags for sale (they’re great for lots of things) as well as reusable boxes etc – and i guess these have lasted us over a year and still don’t need replacing

  3. August 19, 2008 10:59 am

    Way back when I was shopping the Coop a lot more then I do now, I picked up a number of cloth bags they sold for bulk goods. They were great for the various pastas I liked to buy.

    Haven’t used them in years, but I avoid getting too many of the bags for produce and meats. When I do, I recycle the bags at home for various things around the house.

Leave a Reply

