Skip to content

Where did the summer go?

September 17, 2008
mmmm . . . blueberry-y

mmmm . . . blueberry-y

So while I wasn’t winning Iron Cupcake (our lovely winner was Bakerella), the summer got away from me.   Work, school, homework, housework, a nibble of interest from a publisher for the first four chapters of a historical romance that I haven’t finished yet, play dates, a sudden and unexpected longing to become a player of the French horn (that would be Tuxedo Boy), and a booming small business in child care (that would be Little Sunshine).   To fast forward to the present day, here’s my month in photographs:

Begonia, we hardly knew ye.

Begonia, we hardly knew ye.

RIP, my sweet Angel Wing Begonia, knocked off the plant stand and ripped to shreds by wild beasts.

The expense of spirit in a waste of shame

The expense of spirit in a waste of shame

These, of course, are the wild beasts, relaxing after their horticide.  I loved that begonia.  I raised it from a tiny leaf, rescued by sister Hoe from the compost heap at a local nursery.  It was beautiful in its prime.  Alas.

Cherry Littlebottom, is that you?

Cherry Littlebottom, is that you?

Inspired by other cool knitters and the Sutton Hoo helmet, I put this fine little item together on a whim.  Tuxedo Boy is clamoring for his own version . . . I’m working on it.  Also more dishclothes, baby booties for a sweet friend of mine expecting twins (!), and some socks for Little Sunshine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hels permalink
    September 21, 2008 6:09 am

    I so want one of those! 🙂

  2. November 4, 2008 10:29 am

    yep you are jack our maniac in my chat box and your mental here,

Leave a Reply

