Skip to content

Holiday Baking

December 22, 2008

I went into cookie overdrive the other night . . . can’t quite explain it, but by the end of the evening, we had chocolate wafers, gingerbread cookies, chocolate chips, and sugar cookies for our usual tray for our beloved McDonald Elementary, plus 2 dozen Chanukah cookies for Tuxedo Boy’s winter party, plus these homemade marshmallows for Little Sunshine’s English teacher and her student teacher, and the librarians:

The marshies are easy, fast, and fun . . . I use the Thomas Keller recipe–probably the only one of his recipes I’ll ever use (I know my limits!).

I think I mentioned that we thought Little Sunshine had mono(nucleosis) two weeks ago.  She didn’t, thank Heaven, just a particularly terrible virus–which knocked me down on Friday.  I have been so sick, I can’t even tell you.  Well, yes, actually I can.

I was so sick that I DIDN”T MAKE LATKES last night.  We lit the menorah and put it in the front window.  I handed out new dreidels.  I went back to the couch and moaned a little, while Joan made hamburgers and french fries for the kids, and hot tea with sugar for me. 

Luckily, I’m a little better today, although still not latke-good, and I’ve got six nights to redeem myself.  I’m actually thinking of doing latkes with the leg of lamb and sprouts on Christmas Eve .  .  . not exactly traditional, but then, neither are we, and I think it would taste really good.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2008 10:13 pm

    Yummy! I wanna eat that all. Bad that you got sick. Hope you have got well now. Best of luck for the rest of your life.

  2. January 20, 2009 4:17 pm

    I tried the marshmallow recipe you recommended. Delish. Thanks for the recommendation.
    Shannon

    • melyndahuskey permalink*
      January 28, 2009 12:45 am

      They’re so much fun, aren’t they? And just the thing for cocoa. It’s -13 F here today, and cocoa is a necessity.

Leave a Reply

