Skip to content

Zakka Sacred to Athena and the New Year

December 31, 2008

Aren’t these a hoot? 

Sorry.

There won’t be any more of that.  I promise.  But they are adorable, aren’t they?  I got the idea from the inimitable Moonstitches, who also has made the most beautiful granny hex afghan in the entire world.  The tutorial is easy to follow–the only little glitch is drafting a pattern for yourself.  But I’ve figured one out, and I’d be glad to email you my version if you like.

They take exactly no time at all to complete–especially if, like me, you sew them entirely by hand while watching old Poirot mysteries from the public library and luxuriating in vacation time. 

Hard to believe that 2008 is nearly over.  Not that I’m sorry to see it go:  on balance, this year has been the hardest of my 44.  But there’s satisfaction in endurance, and after a while, there was more than endurance:  there was  quiet triumph.  Ha!

We’ll be seeing the old year out with sparkling apple juice, spicy-sweet nuts, the last of the Christmas crackers, and some more of those Poirots:  a thoroughly domestic celebration of steadfastness and love and possibility.    I hope your new year is filled with everything sweet and strong and precious and good.  I hope all our wishes are granted–mine and yours.

Happy New Year!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 5:53 pm

    I would love to have a copy of your own pattern! Thanks so much for the offer.

Leave a Reply

