Skip to content

It’s Not All Gracious Living Around Here

April 23, 2009

Hot dog parasites?  Miraculous operation of wind in hurricane?  Alien life form on plate?

Why, no!  It’s just a BoingBoing inspired menu item which delighted the hot-dog eating members of the family.  Except Little Sunshine, who is as opposed to all forms of food-mixing as any member of an ancient Israelite priestly caste could wish. 

I consider it a much greater labor of love than any four-layer cake could be:  I hate hot dogs.  HATE them. I don’t like to touch their chill, clammy, stiff-yet-yielding, tubular selves (and aren’t you thinking about Twilight now?).  I don’t like the way they smell.  I hate the way their grease floats at the top of the water they’ve been boiled in.  But I cut up two whole Hebrew Nationals (the only hot dog that will ever enter my refrigerator)  and threaded spaghetti through them, just to create a plate that looks like this:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Winkin permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:34 am

    Wow. Not only a food you hate, but to take the time to thread it with spaghetti? That is what I call a plate full of love.

    PS: Not a hot dog aficionado but if you must Hebrews are the kosher way to go.

  2. hels permalink
    May 5, 2009 7:39 am

    okay so that just makes me screw my face up all puckered like, and hunch my shoulders up and say “ew”. I love it!! 🙂

  3. June 16, 2009 7:20 am

    So did you do this before or after you cooked the hotdogs and spaghetti… I’m fascinated. Really.

    • melyndahuskey permalink*
      June 19, 2009 10:40 pm

      You thread the spaghetti through the hotdog rounds before boiling. Ugh. It’s disgusting. Then you drop the spaghetti rounds in the boiling water, cook it till it’s limp and snaky. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

