Skip to content

Isn’t she adorable?

June 27, 2009

Meet my absolute dream rabbit, Frankie.  We’re going steady–and every Saturday, we ride down to the Farmer’s Market to buy bread from Wheatberries.  When I can afford it, I’m going to get panniers and a bell and a cupholder and a basket.  She deserves it, don’t you think?

It’s been at least 20 years since I rode a bike.  I fell in love with Frankie in the bike shop window, and the kids egged me on to try her out.  Three speeds, coaster brakes, and that irresistible lipstick red.

The kids required me to take lessons from them, riding in the parking lot of the junior high school across the street.  After a week or so, they certified me road-ready, and we started taking rides around town–to the park, to the library, to the bakery.  It’s so much fun, riding a bike.  I find myself laughing out loud as we bowl along.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 9:26 am

    Oh, so pretty. Do get the panniers – I love mine. And if you get a couple of bungee cords, you can lash anything (within reason) to the pannier rack.

    My bike doesn’t have a name and isn’t as pretty – we don’t have those elegant curvy bikes over here – but I love it. Riding to work along the trail, past the willows and the gorse, is almost the only thing that makes going to work in the summer worthwhile…

    • melyndahuskey permalink*
      June 28, 2009 3:23 pm

      I’m silly about naming things–houseplants, bicycles, appliances . . . I can’t help it.

  2. June 29, 2009 10:12 am

    I do need to get my bike tuned so I can get out and about.

    LOVE Frankie. I haven’t named my bike, not sure why, I name my cars 😀

    I 2nd getting the panniers asap, I swear by mine, they make going to the store and getting stuff so much easier.

Leave a Reply

