Skip to content

Summer

June 27, 2009

Voila our hammock–a summertime necessity for me.  It’s a fabulous hammock, which will hold me and Tuxedo Boy at the same time, or Little Sunshine and a stack of library books, or me all by myself. 

The thing about hammocks is that they make cloudwatching, treetop gazing, and involuntary napping practically compulsory.   We’ve had great clouds this summer–cumulus in particular have been fluffier, whiter, and loftier than I’ve ever seen.  There’s a willow tree right above the hammock, which is mesmerizing in a slight breeze.

The leaves create the most amazing patterns of light and shade, and the shifting greens and yellows are as soothing to the eye as the rustle of the branches is to the ear. 

Our pine tree is also appealing.  It’s enormous, and reminds me of the camphor tree in My Neighbor Totoro.  Usually at this point in my musings from the hammock, I drift off.  Summertime napping.  Ahhhhh.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 6:34 pm

    I take books outside to our hammock regularly, but like you am easily distracted by leaves, warm breezes, and the warmth of the sun. By the second paragraph the sun and breeze are taunting my eyelids; by the fourth paragraph I generally have to put the book down. Ahh, summer.

Leave a Reply

