Skip to content

Music for All Occasions: Power Femme Edition

July 4, 2009

Because it’s useful to remember just how much ass we can kick, and in how many different ways, when we choose to:

In my next life, I’ll be able to dance like that.

What I really, really love about this video is at 2:47, where she gives a little stomp, and the whole street jumps up in the air.  Watch for it.  Because you’ve been that mad.

Little Sunshine and Tuxedo Boy are very tired of this tune–but I love it, and I love the 1960s version of a music video that goes with it.  Scopotones were like video jukeboxes, apparently, and while at their worst they looked the video to “Whip It,” they also could be as fab as this.  (Although they all seem to include some kind of undies.)   Francoise Hardy was one of the original ye-ye girls, and for my money, the best of the lot.

You’ve already heard about my Janet Klein crush.  I love the music, of course, but even more than that I love the singleminded devotion to a crazy idea that is her career.  And she’s the reason I have a ukulele.

And to wrap it up? 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 12:11 am

    Unfortunately i can’t see the street jump in the second video it is unavailable for me to watch in NZ!

  2. July 5, 2009 6:57 am

    Ooh, sorry, Jo! Can you see the others? I wonder what the problem is? I’ll investigate.

  3. hels permalink
    July 11, 2009 6:03 pm

    hey Jo, i just google “carrie underwood youtube” and you can find it that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

