Skip to content

Mince Pie! Mince Pie!

September 10, 2009

I’m addicted to “The Hope Chest,” a blog showcasing “Bad news from the Past.”  One of the reasons I love it is that Mr. Parallel, curator of The Hope Chest, is a serious scholar of the mince pie, its connotations and denotations.  If you don’t believe me, follow the tag Hot Mince Pie.

I have an historic mincemeat recipe, one for which my great-grandmother was famous.  In homage to Mr. Parallel, and his unparalleled blog, I give you Ruth Walter Amos’s Mincemeat, which will be just the kind of thing you like if you like this kind of thing. 

Mincemeat

Boil 3 pounds of venison neck roast until well-done.  Pick over the meat, discarding the bones, and mix in a large bowl with:

1 pound apples, peeled, cored, and chopped
1 pound raisins, seeded (this element of the recipe dates it to before wide availability of the seedless raisin–maybe 1885 or so)
1 pound currants
1/2 pound candied citron
2 quarts sweet cider (as opposed to hard cider, which my great-grandmother, a Temperance woman to her bones, would never have permitted in her home)
7 cups sugar
1 tablespoon black pepper
3 tablespoons salt
1 1/2 tablespoons ground cloves
3 tablespoons cinnamon
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 pound suet, chopped

Simmer mixture for 2 hours in a large kettle.  Pack in sterilized quart jars and process in hot water bath for 15-20 minutes.
Make up into pies using your favorite pie crust recipe. Eat while warm. Be prepared for indigestion, nightmares, and possible crime to follow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mrparallel permalink
    September 11, 2009 7:55 am

    1) Have you ever made or tasted this recipe?
    2) Thanks for the appreciative tout!

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    September 11, 2009 8:45 am

    I have made and canned my share of mincemeat over the years, using venison shot by my mother. If you like mincemeat, it’s very good.

    I hate mincemeat.

  3. September 23, 2009 11:08 am

    Goodness me! I am unfamiliar with mincemeat that actually has meat in it.

    J’s mother is an all-season mince pie maker (individual-size pies) and it has long grieved me that she makes pastry with lard in it. Even though I have been vegetarian for longer than I’ve known J, occasionally I cave and have one…

Trackbacks

  1. Poetaster « The Hope Chest

Leave a Reply

