Skip to content

Crafthope Sock Monkey, Bicultural Ann, and the Legend of Zelda Costume

October 11, 2009

Mr. Stilton, Jr.,  here is our contribution to Crafthope #4.  We had a hard time boxing him up–I’d never made a sock monkey before this project.  Curiously, while I was making the cheerfully striped Mr. Stilton, Sr., (he of the mind-bendingly long limbs), and his little friend, I discovered that everyone in my household wanted a sock monkey.  Yes, Joan ‘s childhood was poisoned by lack of  a sock monkey.  Over long years, Little Sunshine has yearned in vain for a sock monkey.  Tuxedo Boy’s longing for a sock monkey is unexampled in the annals of hopeless love.

But no-one mentioned it to me.  Which is a bit odd, considering all the things I HAVE made at the drop of a hint . . .

Alas, they all want traditional sock monkeys.  Not the cutie pie ones which can be made from a $1.89 pair of gaily-striped polyester knee-highs from the spinning rack at the drugstore.  The kind painstakingly constructed from $10 + shipping and handling Rockford Red Heel Socks.

We’ll see, say I.  They aren’t that much fun to make, really, and the old-school ones give me the creeps, sort of.  I don’t know why.

Any way, my sewing hands have been full with other projects:  our friend Nisha (hi, Nish!) is getting her teaching certificate, and observing at a kindergarten reminded her of how she’d always wanted a brown-skinned Raggedy Ann doll when she was little.  Well, we did her one better:  Bicultural Ann!

Raggedy Anns are something of a tradition in my family–my great-grandmother was a great maker of the Ann and Andy pairs, and when Little Sunshine was a baby, my cousin Pat made a really sweet one for her.  I learned to sew making doll clothes, and I still love to ruffle petticoats and pinafores.  That’s the Loli-goth appeal, too–doll clothes for bigger dollies!

As Halloween approaches, though, I’m knitting like a fiend.  Tuxedo Boy has become a member of the All-City Band, where he plays trumpet.  They’ll be marching in costume in the University’s homecoming parade on Halloween, which is also his birthday, and he wanted to be Link .  But with a knitted tunic and hat, not sewn.  Because knitting is cooler, apparently.

The hat is done, and I’m about halfway through the tunic.  Two good movies should just about do it.  Little Sunshine is donating a pair of boots.  After that, it’ll be a mad scramble through bureau drawers and closets to fill in the blanks.  But no-one else will have one like it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 6:56 am

    We were the only kids we knew with a Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy (and a story book to go with them). They were a gift from American relatives, but I didn’t realise that they were a home-made… thing… what am I trying to say here? Folk craft?

    We did, however, often give our dolls scarf saris.

    Personally, I would much rather have a rainbow sock monkey than a traditional one, although again sock monkeys mean “thing I see on the Internet” to me rather than “beloved traditional home-made toy”. I think Stilton Jr is charming.

  2. November 1, 2013 9:46 am

    I really do love the crafts you have on your blog, god, you have everything! 🙂
    I would suggest you add a search widget.

  3. November 1, 2013 9:49 am

    P.S. I love the format of you blog and the categories, I’ll definitely try the monkey!

Leave a Reply

