Skip to content

Bounty!

August 13, 2010

Isn’t that beautiful?  A classic Salade Nicoise (at least as I learned to make it).  Boiled potatoes, steamed green beans, boiled egg, tuna in olive oil, Nicoise olives (and some Greek olives for Tuxedo Boy), tomatoes, basil, and a mustardy vinagrette.  Quite possibly the best summer supper ever.

The produce is all from my latest discovery, Bountiful Baskets.  Despite the somewhat hokey name, it’s terrific.  I pay $15 on-line on Tuesday, and on Saturday morning I drive out to a ginormous machine shed just outside Pullman and pick up enough fruit and vegetables to fill a laundry basket.  As much as I’ve loved my csa, I have to admit that there’s not much there.   But in my basket of bounty?  Last week, I got 4 kiwis, 2 cantaloupes, a head of romaine, 3 broccoli, an eggplant, a pound of strawberries, 6 bananas, 7 peaches, 2 cucumbers, 3 mexican squash, 16 plums, and 2 pounds of green beans.

And then we have delicious vegetables all week long!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

