Skip to content

Halloween Sweetness (only two months late)

December 4, 2008

Yes, I know it’s December, and I should be all about the winter holidays . . . and I will be.  But first, I’ve got some backlog to work off.  Like these gingerbread skeletons, which we had so much fun with.  Tuxedo Boy’s class was studying the human skeleton, and at the same time, Craftzine featured Heidi’s genius version of these and we were inspired.

It’s my standard gingerbread recipe decorated with royal frosting.  I like my gingerbread just slightly chewy and thick, not thin and crispy. 

Gingerbread

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1 cup butter (2 sticks), softened
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups unbleached flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Add molasses and beat well.  Add egg and vanilla and beat again until it’s all very well-mixed, light, and a lovely uniform light brown.

In a separate bowl, sift dry ingredients together.  Add to creamed mixture and stir until well-mixed.  Divide into three balls and flatten slightly.  Wrap each one in plastic wrap and chill thoroughly–at least an hour.  Roll out into the shapes of your choice, and bake at 350 degrees F for nine minutes.

Royal Frosting

I have to admit I pretty much wing my royal frosting–an egg white, a bunch of confectioner’s sugar, and a little lemon juice.  Beat it really well, get it into the piping tube, and knock yourself out.

No comments yet

Leave a comment