Skip to content

Butterfly Wishes

July 11, 2009

In February,  I started doing this very strange (and strangely addictive and amazing) kind of yoga called Shiva Nata, the Dance of Shiva.  The god Shiva, among other things, superintends the destroying and creating of the universe; this form of yoga essentially destroys and creates your brain while you’re doing it–in the best possible way, I hasten to add.  For more, I can only recommend Havi Brooks’ site, which includes a little demo.  (For the record, I can’t do that yet.  Not even close.)

So Shiva Nata people–or Shivanauts, as we are called by Those In The Know–are extremely peculiar, but hilarious people.  Which is how I found myself not just taking part in a conversation about writing want ads addressed to the Universe, but actually doing it.  (I know.  Woo-woo New Age weirdness isn’t my usual thing, is it?) 

Not only did I compose some want ads; indeed, I’ve gone further.  I wrote my want ads on sheets of origami paper, turned them into butterflies, and made a mobile, which is currently hanging in the plum tree in the back yard–where it might be easier for the Universe to find it. 

In case you’re wondering, I’m hoping the Universe will provide an easygoing, cheerful ukulele teacher who’d trade the occasional half-hour lesson for homemade baked goods or handmade sweaters, a perfect perfume that I can afford, time to finish writing one novel and begin another before the summer draws to a close, and a few other trifles.

It’s dark out there now, and my little origami butterflies are fluttering paper wings in the night breezes, sending my wishes into the sleeping world.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2009 10:22 pm

    I love your butterflies….So wish I could do that….

  2. melyndahuskey permalink*
    July 12, 2009 1:22 pm

    It’s easy and fun! Here’s a great video how-to that will walk you through every step of the process:

    Enjoy!

  3. July 12, 2009 7:01 pm

    Melynda,

    Love the butterflies- and just wanted you to know I made turnovers this morning… they were divine!

  4. July 13, 2009 6:19 pm

    Wish I could teach you the uke as the exchange of a handmade sweater sounds amazing. (I’d drool for baked goods, too but am newly gluten-free, sigh.)

    Happy to meet you. Cheers for want ads and Shiva Nata and the lovely Havi.

  5. July 13, 2009 7:02 pm

    Dear Mahala,

    If only you were in the wilds of Idaho! ‘Cause I’ve got some great gluten-free recipes (homemade oreos, for example, and korovas). Not to mention the sweaters, mittens, and hats . . .

  6. July 17, 2009 6:02 pm

    I love this post! And the butterflies! FABULOUS.

    Glad you’re one of our peculiar-but-hilarious not-really-that-woo-woo gang.

  7. July 22, 2009 11:33 am

    Hello fellow Shivanaut! I’m a rookie, started this week 🙂 I love your idea of putting your personal ads out into the real world like that. Mine only exist online right now, but paper seems like a better idea. I’m looking forward to following your blog, good stuff!

  8. July 22, 2009 6:27 pm

    That is absolutely precious! Your idea rocks.

    I haven’t tried writing an ad yet (or blogging! working on it), but I am a fellow Shivanaut and Fluent Self-fan 🙂

  9. July 22, 2009 7:09 pm

    Hail, Shivanauts! Or maybe that should be Avast, as a nod to Havi the Pirate Queen? I’m so glad you all stopped by. I’m a rookie myself, despite the many months I’ve been practicing: my mantra is “Doing it wrong is doing it right!” Hope to see more of you!

  10. KathyG permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:18 pm

    Melynda,

    I should have made this suggestion a while ago, but (insert feeble excuse of your choice here) I didn’t. I just saw on Havi’s blog that you still haven’t found a perfume yet, so here goes: check out Joy, by Patou. It’s been around since the thirrties, and I’m sure it will be forever. It’s one of the _very_ few scents that I can wear without getting a headache; I think it’s because it doesn’t have a strong “base note”. Floral (jasmine — that’s why it costs what it does) without being too frou frou or cloying. The concentrated perfume is outrageous, but the Eau de Toilette is quite reasonable and a bottle of it lasts me for years. The only thing is it can be a bit challenging to find in Canada at least.

    Here’s a review of it: http://www.nstperfume.com/2008/01/14/jean-patou-joy-perfume-review/

    Hope this helps,
    Kathy

Trackbacks

  1. Item! I’m not even here! Whoah. | cuinlalaland
  2. Item! I expect you to be cursing in Cornish at my potluck | cuinlalaland
  3. Item! Trust. Crankiness. Measuring cups. | cuinlalaland

Leave a Reply

